Enter a Golden Sandman

you can wonder about the elusiveness of sleep
you can imagine what is possible with
the power of yourself and the one
real purpose of your existence looking you in the eye
which seems shut even when it’s open
and you feel a cold, rough hand gripping
around your throat and you wonder about your
next breath and whether you’ll have a pillow
under your head when the night comes tight
and fast and another day goes through the exit
door and you’re pretty sure the light
and hope and desire will never enter
into the picture because night after night
day after day give after give take after take
greedy folk screaming me my me my
and you place everything into an outstretched hand
and my is never your and they’re is never we’re
the constant grasping turns you off
and you’re running from and never to
because it’s always never
and never not never
in the taking land

Sometimes I enjoy a Golden Shovel more than I ought.

5 thoughts on “Enter a Golden Sandman

  1. Carrie, I wish there was more than a like button – I need a love or adoration button. I have known this poem with the never ending taking until the well is dry and still the taking – of the mud at the bottom and the bricks at the top until there isn’t even the bucket or rope left! But the truth is that the rain will come and fill the well. Those who took will come back thinking they can take some more but the bucket and rope are missing and they cannot reach the water. As a golden shovel this one exceeds all expectations! We all dream of flying away from the grasping greedy gits….

    • I’m so glad you commented. Thank you. I know that you have conquered this and retaken control of your well. You give me hope.
      I’m also pretty darn sure that you introduced me to the golden shovel, which is definitely a favorite now. So I can also say you’ve given me voice or at least a megaphone.

Leave a comment